Here is the list of top 10 tourist destinations in Uganda.

  1. Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Bwindi Impenetrable is a national park in Uganda. It is situated in southwestern part of Uganda (East Africa). Bwindi Impenetrable National Park is situated next to Virunga National Park. It is also listed as the World Heritage site by the UNESCO. The total area of the park is 331 square kilometres. It was established in the year 1991. The total management of the park is done by the Ugandan Wildlife Authority.

This park is famous for chimpanzees, colobus monkeys and different types of birds like hornbills and turacos. It is also famous for the Bwindi gorillas.

2. Kibale National Park

Kibale National Park is one of the most famous park in southern part of Uganda. Total area is about 766 kilometer square. The park was established in the year 1993. Kibale is situated in the districts of Kabarole and Kamwenge. The complete management of this park is under Ugandan Wildlife Authority. It is the most famous rainforest park in Uganda.

3. Queen Elizabeth National Park

This park lies in the western part of Uganda exploring into the parts of Kasese, Kamwenge, Bushenyi, and Rukungiri districts. The total area of the park is around 1,978 square kilometres. Queen Elizabeth National Park was established in the year 1954 and governed by the same Ugandan Wildlife Authority.

4. Murchison Falls National Park

Murchison Falls National Park is the famous national park of Uganda. It lies in the north western part of Uganda. Total area of the park is about 3,480 square kilometres. Nearest city to this park is Masindi. It was established in the year 1952.

5. Lake Mburo National Park

Lake Mburo is situated in the area of Kiruhura District that lies in the Western Uganda. Total area of the park is 260 square kilometres. The full management of the park is in the hand of Ugandan Wildlife Authority. The nearest city to this national park is Mbarara. There are different types of animals you can see there like zebras, impala, buffaloes, and around 300 bird species.

6. Ssese Islands

Ssese Islands is a group of 84 islands. It lies in the northwestern part of Lake victoria. Lake victoria is second biggest freshwater lake in the world. And the Islands of Ssese covers northwestern part of the Lake victoria. The biggest Island of the Ssese is the Bugala. All the Islands are divided into two parts. The south western part is known as Bugala group and the northeastern group is known as Koome group.

The main Islands in Bugala Group are Bubeke, Bufumira, Bugaba, Bukasa, Buyova, Funve and Serinya. And in Koome Group are Damba, Koome and Luwaji.

7. Entebbe Wildlife Sanctuary

This wildlife sanctuary was established in the year 1951. The total area of the Entebbe wildlife sanctuary is about 51 square kilometres.

8. Lake Mutanda

Lake Mutanda is situated in district Kisoro. It lies in the southwestern part of Uganda. The location is around 20 kilometres from the town Kisoro. You can have a proper view for Mount Muhabura, Mount Sabinyo and Mount Gahinga from the Lake Mutanda. The lake water comes from Rutshuru River.

9. Mount Elgon National Park

Mount Elgon National Park is situated around 140 km in the northeast of Lake Victoria. This park is divided by the border of Uganda and Kenya. The total area is around 1279 km². The Ugandan part covers around 1110 km² and Kenyan part covers around 169 km². The nearest city to this park is Mbale. The park was established in the year 1968 (Kenya) and 1992 (Uganda). The name Mount Elgon National Park was named after the famous extinct volcano Mount Elgon.

10. Kasubi Tombs

Kasubi Tombs is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Some of the buildings were destroyed in the year 2010 by fire. The cause of fire is still not investigated. Kasubi Tombs are the tombs where the Kabaka (tittle of the King) were buried.

The Kabakas that were buried at that site were Muteesa I (1835–1884), Mwanga II (1867–1903), Daudi Chwa II (1896–1939) and Sir Edward Muteesa II (1924–1969).


Comments are closed.